Domestic Football


The premiership in Sweden is named Allsvenskan (16 clubs), the second highest division is Superettan ("Super-One", 16 clubs), followed by two division 1 series, division 2 etc.

The first Swedish title was won by Örgryte in 1896 but the League - Allsvenskan - was not established until the season 1924/25.

The Swedish Cup was established in 1941.


Damallsvenskan (12 clubs) is the name of the premiership. The clubs ending up 11-12 are relegated and replaced by the winners and the runners-up of Elitettan. The first national championship was held in 1973 and a single nationwide top league was introduced in 1988.
The Swedish Cup started in 1981.